“Alan T”

Written in memory of Alan Tompkins who passed away March 2017

By: Christine Bischof

To the tune of “Lean on Me”

 

Al Tompkins loved life

He did have pain, He did have sorrow.

But Alan was wise,

He didn’t put things off for tomorrow.

 

Lean on Jesus is what he would say

He’ll be your friend,

He’ll help you carry on

Al would sit by your side

When a friend was in need of somebody to lean on

 

Al wouldn’t let you just pout

If life was tough and you were in sorrow

For pity can’t fill those of your needs

Only the Lord can

 

He would lift up a brother when they were in need

Selfless love is what he would proudly share

He would hold you accountable for helping yourself

But was never too proud to sing God’s praise

 

He was friends with the young and old

He didn’t care what culture you came from

For it didn’t take long

‘Til you fell in love with Alan Tompkins

 

He was a truck driving brother who traveled a lot

He encouraged others to push on

He would tell you your struggles through prophesy

And encourage you to do the Lord’s will

 

If there is a load

You have to bear

That you can’t carry

Al would have you know

God shares your load

Here’s what God says to you:

 

Call me if you need a friend Call me, call me, uh-huh Call me when you need a friend Call me if you ever need a friend Call me, call me Call me, call me Call me, call me Call me, call me Call me if you need a friend Call me, call me Call me, call me Call me, call me Call me, call me Call me

 

This entry was posted in Inspirational Poems, Spiritual Lessons, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

