Just Another Imperfect Mom

Why am I qualified to talk to you about being a Mother?

Truthfully, I’m probably not. I still have no idea what I’m doing.

 

Why should you listen to me?

Well, “because I said so”

 

Ok, in all seriousness, I have been mothering my own children for 13 years….I am the mother of:

  • a 13 year old girl Savannah
  • an 11 year old girl Jadyn
  • an 8 year old boy Caleb

and I have an angel in heaven whom I was blessed to mother only in the womb (Alexis would be 12 years old)

 

And….. every once in a while, I even Mother my husband (but he doesn’t prefer that) and I’m not so good at it either.

 

So, I wrote a poem that shows just how close I am to being a Proverbs 31 wife and mother. I hope you get a good laugh as I highlight the chaos that I call “Motherhood”.

 

Just Another Imperfect Mom

 (by: Christine Bischof)

 

 

I cook for my kids, oh that’s for sure

However the food isn’t always real pure

I don’t tend a garden or pick fruit from a tree

Some food comes out of containers you see

 

 

I clean up the house but it’s never spotless

I try to pick up as they add to the mess

Some weeks nothing else seems to get done

Except meal preparation, and cleanup is real fun

 

 

I comfort and consult broken little hearts

This is often the most amazingly tender part

Then other days I’m just a plain-old grump

And just want to lay around like a rotten old stump

 

 

I care for their boo-boos and sick little bods

But my hands as I care for them are truly God’s

I sit by their side when they’ve been hurt by a friend

But they often still feel like their hearts will not mend

 

 

I discipline and teach when it’s lesson time

And the consequences cannot be mine

This role is really an unappreciated one

But I know it’ll be worth it when all is said and done

 

 

I work a full-time job outside of the home

And when time allows, I might write a silly poem

But every bit of time spent away from my three

Often makes me feel guilty for time spent on me

 

 

In summary I can tell you one thing for sure

Motherhood is a role that takes you to the floor

It’s on your knees where the battles are fought

And believe me, the number of battles is a LOT

 

 

Being a Mom can be a thankless role

But what other job has such a lofty goal

To raise little beings who will go on to display

Great character and integrity each and every day

 

 

This thing that we do may tire us out

But being content is not what it’s about

We strive to be excellent in each step we take

Knowing they are watching each move that we make.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Family Times, Humor, Inspirational Poems, Life Lessons (by way of trials), Parenting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

