Helpful self talk for weight loss

I read a book called The Beck Diet, which is NOT a diet at all.  It can be used in conjunction with any healthy eating plan that works for you.  I am using it with Take Shape For Life.  It is helpful in learning to talk to yourself and think like a thin person.  It was amazing!  Here are a few tips from the book (& a couple from other books) that I have on a notecard that I read several times a day.  It has made the difference for me!

Craving always go away and there are things I can do to make them go away faster.  I do NOT have to give in to them!  Cravings are not an emergency!

Every single time I put food in my mouth, it matters!

If I eat even a small amount of high fat, high carb food, then I will just want more.

Always eat while sitting down and be very aware of what you are eating.  Don’t eat mindlessly.

Give yourself credit for every small success (like not eating something that tempted you).

When you are tempted, think about wether you want to strengthen your ‘give in’ muscle or your ‘resistence’ muscle.  Every time you resist, this muscle is strengthened and vice versa.

Keep the tempting foods out of your environment

If I eat something I’m not supposed to, it does not mean I am bad or hopeless.  I don’t have to make it worse by continuing to eat whatever I want for the rest of the day.  I can get back on track immediately.

If I don’t follow a nutritious diet, I am more likely to cheat.

It can take up to 20 minutes after you eat for your brain to register you are full, wait it out!

FOR CRAVINGS:

Label it, tell yourself it’s only a craving, it’s not an emergency.  Then stand firm.  Tell yourself that you are absolutely NOT going to eat the craved item.  Don’t give yourself a choice….tell yourself with absolute conviction, NO CHOICE!  Imagine the aftermath off giving in….see yourself upset, giving in, eating mor and more and feeling worse.  Then tell yourself you want to learn to withstand cravings, and read your notecard (this).

Distance yourself from the food you crave.  Drink a low or no calorie beverage ( water with lemon, tea, etc).  Relax.  Distract yourself!

hope these are helpful.  They have certainly been to me. Blessings!

This entry was posted in Mental Health, Physical Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

