Great Health Resources

I wanted to give credit where credit is due.  For many of my upcoming blog posts, I was encouraged in my journey for optimal health due to several books, videos, articles I have read over time.  So here are the resources:

Take Shape for Life (TSFL) program (how I lost the 50 lbs by just eating well) even before adding exercise into my routine

Dr A. Habits of Health – by Dr Anderson.  This is the book that goes along with the principles in the TSFL program and the on-going information you need to maintain the weight loss afterwards.

MyFitnessPal Apple App – for tracking food, seeing the ratio of carbs/protein/fat consumed in a day.  Also, tracking appropriate calories to be consumed per day based on your weight loss goal (not to be combined with 5 and 1 phase of TSFL).  Also, tracking exercise and how many calories each exercise helps you burn.

A Course in Weight Loss: 21 Spiritual Lessons for Surrendering your Weight Forever book by Marianne Williamson.  This book helped me with some of the emotional eating issues I have.  It has some odd principles as well.  So I took the good stuff and ignored the interesting stuff.  🙂  My main take-away was including God in the weight loss journey and use journaling, prayer, meditation on God’s Word, etc as tools to help you avoid eating when you shouldn’t.

The Skinny on Obesity – a video series that can be found on YouTube.  The 4th video is the best for me.  It was on sugar and how your body responds to it the same way it responds to drugs like heroine.  All of them were somewhat helpful though.  I think there were 6 or so, each was probably about 5-10 minutes long.

I Can Do This Diet book by Dr Colbert.  This book is AMAZING!  If you look at no other resources on this blog, get this one.  If you read it slowly and digest and apply all the concepts, you WILL lose weight and become healthier.  This is basically my plan for maintaining my weight loss.  It lines up very well with Dr A. Habits of Health as well. 

AllRecipes website is fantastic.  I have learned about some great foods that have many health benefits.  This site has been phenominal for finding yummy recipes where I can incorporate these new found healthy options. 

Hope these are helpful.  Be sure to share any resources that have been helpful to you along your journey to weight loss or optimal health.

This entry was posted in Mental Health, Physical Health, Simplify Life, Spiritual Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

