Health in the making – my journey

I have been on a weight loss journey lately (yet again, I know).  However, this time is different.  I am in it for good.  I plan to lose the weight and keep it off for good. My goal is not just weight loss but overall health.

I’ve learned some very helpful bits of information in the last few months that have been very helpful to to me in my journey to new healthy lifestyle habits.  I have far from arrived, but here are the key take aways for me…

Eat breakfast within an hour of waking so your metabolism gets working first thing in the morning.  Get plenty of rest every night.  Atleast 7 hours is recommended and 8 is even better.  Drink 8-12 glasses of water a day.  Instead of eating 3 large glucose loaded meals a day, stick to 6 small high protein, low glucose meals per day.  This keeps your insulin under control rather than sending it into a continuous cycle of highs and lows.  When you avoid high fat and high carb foods, you avoid cravings that these cause.  Many processed foods contain high fructose corn syrup which actually makes you crave more of these unhealthy foods, which begins yet another vicious cycle.  Exercise is always a key to heart health, but must be combined with these healthy eating habits in order to produce more effective weight loss.  And a key to success is to have a support system of people and educational materials.  It’s also best if you closely monitor your progress through weighing and measuring and journaling your daily food/calorie/carb intake.

So I am currently on a Doctor recommended program which uses meal replacements during the weight loss portion of the journey, to help keep my 6 meals as high protein and low carb, low fat, etc as can be.  It helps me keep my body in a fat burning mode and keeps my energy up while allowing me to stick to a very low calorie diet.

The greatest part is that it teaches me the habits of health so once I lose all the weight I need to lose, then I will have established all the healthy habits I will need in order to keep it off.

Some people argue that the program is too expensive?  I look at it this way…..NOT losing the weight is more expensive for me.  The cost to me for healthcare, prescriptions, life insurance, etc (without the weight loss) is expensive.  And these are ongoing expenses for life potentially.  After weight loss, when I obtain optimum health, these health related expenses are all much cheaper if not completely nonexistent. And the expense of the program is only while I am losing weight.  As an example:  my life insurance rep told me I now qualify for 2 1/2 times my current life insurance policy for $8 LESS than my current policy.  That is a lifetime of monthly savings and  highly increased policy amount at that.

Another way for me to figure the cost is to figure out how much money I was spending on junk food, fast food and high fat beverages (specialty coffees, etc).  This can all now be put toward program costs now.  And, in the end I would pay alot for someone to remove pounds from my body.

So, here I am on this journey and a great journey it has been.  I have lost 45 pounds and plan to lose anywhere between 15 and 40 more pounds, depending on how healthy I look/feel after losing the next 15.  I am taking it one day at a time and truthfully often one hour at a time.

If you are on a similar journey or wish to begin the journey yet again, be sure to let me know.  We can support each other and share learnings.  Be blessed and thanks for reading this blog.  Hope it encourages you.  “Don’t Give Up!”  With God all things are possible, not necessarily easy.  🙂

This entry was posted in Physical Health. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Health in the making – my journey

  1. Denise says:

    How do you get the program and how exspensive is it

  2. tcbischof says:

    It’s called Take Shape for Life and it is about $12 a day depending on what meals you choose. You purchase a months worth at a time if you want free s&h. You only pay for the meals and you get a coach to help you along the way. You sign up through a coach since this is the key to success. I can get you in touch with a coach if you are interested. My coach is wonderful. Just message me on FB if you want contact info. I am actually thinking of maybe becoming a coach eventually since this is working so well for me. Good luck on your journey to health!

Leave a Reply

